1.2 – First actual post

Calligraphy practice has officially begun…and it’s more difficult that I remember. But that’s probably because I’m taking this a bit more seriously than I did when I was 13.

foto_no_exif
Downward stroke(top) and curve(bottom)

I found a Tutorial that goes over the basic strokes and was very helpful to me. You can see my attempts at the two basic structures in calligraphy: the downward stroke and the curve. I discovered that the stroke was actually more difficult for me than the curve. My hand kept wanting to rotate the pen so that it would make a stronger ‘S’ shape.

Overall I’d say I did pretty well for the first time in 10 years. Obviously the most important thing is what everyone always says: practice, practice, practice.

Before I sign off, I wanted to take a few minutes and talk about the supplies I bought. The Hobby Lobby near me didn’t have a great selection of calligraphy pens so I had to pick one that took cartridges instead of an ink well. You can see the differences between the two in the pictures below. Of the few tutorials that I glanced at, they all seemed mixed on which one you should use if you are a beginner. I personally liked the cartridge kind I bought and found it easy to use and fill.

64912
Pen with ink well
fountain-pen-kit
Pen with cartridge

 

TIP: If you are using an ink cartridge pen that won’t write, hold the pen downward for about 15 minutes so that the ink can flow to the nib(the part you write with). If it still won’t write, dip the pen in some water, dry off any excess water, and try it again.

 

Leave a Reply

