First blog post

Before I get into the details of why I started this blog, I’d like to start with a little introduction about myself. My name is J, and I am a senior computer science student at a university in Texas. I have three main hobbies: programming projects, learning about serial killers, and reading. Yes, you read that right. Serial killers. A few years ago, a friend lent me a copy of the The Devil in the White City which is a novel about one of America’s first serial killers, H.H. Holmes. And the rest of it is kind of just history.

Now back to this blog. I would say this blog has three major purposes:                           

Introduction for new hobbyists

Maybe you’ve thought about starting a new hobby, but you aren’t sure which one to start. That’s ok! I’m in the same boat. That’s why I’m trying a new hobby every month and writing this blog. So I can try different things and find more hobbies that I like. And hopefully help you find your own hobbies and interests in the process.

Maybe none of the hobbies that you’ve heard or read about interest you. That’s fine, too. Hopefully I can showcase a couple of hobbies that you haven’t heard of and get your creative juices flowing.

Resources for hobbyists                                                                                                                  

For almost any hobby you can find 100’s of YouTube videos and tutorials to follow online. However there isn’t a single website that curates all of the good stuff and tosses all of the trash. That’s another thing that I’m hoping to do with this blog. If you are interested in learning calligraphy(or piano, canoeing, etc.) and you are swamped with tutorials then just pop over to this blog. I’ll have something about that topic…probably.

Accountability buddy                                                                                                                    

I have a terrible habit of losing interest halfway through a project. I’ve probably started and stopped a half dozen projects in the last 3 months alone. With a blog that the entire Internet can see, I’m hoping that I can keep trying a new hobby each month without quitting.

Welcome to my blog!

Leave a Reply

