1.4 – Uppercase “Roundhand”

Today was all about practicing the uppercase Roundhand font, or what I thought was the Roundhand font. If you google “roundhand font”, all of these fonts pop up:

Look different, right? The first one is from the Mastering Calligraphy tutorial that I’ve been using. I was confused about which one was the real roundhand until I found this page on the International Association of Master Penmen, Engrossers and Teachers of Handwriting website that explains the differences between scripts that look similar to roundhand such as Engraver’s and Engrosser’s scripts. It would seem that the middle font above is the closest to actual roundhand. Oops, my bad.

So, instead, I’ll be showing you my faux roundhand that I’ve been practicing.

foto_no_exif2-e1489083829814.jpg

First off, sorry about the wonky angle. I’ve been procrastinating on cleaning my desk so there was very little room to put the writing pad down and take a picture. Second, I’m not going to lie. I’m not very happy with the way that it turned out. I can’t seem to get the little curves on the ends of some letters(L, M, U, etc.).  I’ll probably spend the next few days practicing it a bit more before moving on to Gothic font.

And that is it for today. To break up the monotony of me just posting about my practice drawings over and over, I thought it might be good idea to have Fridays be a special blog post. Maybe something about the history of calligraphy, modern-day calligraphers, etc.

Let me know what you think.

– J

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

