1.5 – Gothic Alphabet Part I

So my idea of having a special Friday blog post fell through pretty quickly. My computer networking lab took longer than I thought it would, and, before I knew it, it was Sunday night. However don’t fear. I did practice writing using the faux roundhand script as you can see below.

foto_no_exif (1)

Now onto the Gothic font. Also known as blackletter, Gothic script is probably one of the most well-known calligraphy fonts. It was used from 1100 CE to 1700 CE in most of Western Europe. For this font, I’ll be using this tutorial. I just want to again recommend that you look over this site if you are interested in calligraphy. Lots of tutorials for beginners.

Here you can see a side-by-side comparison of a professional calligrapher and my attempt at the Gothic script.

This time, I was just trying to form the letters correctly. If you look at the top of the ‘i’ and ‘l’, there is what looks like a little square. Looks pretty simple, right? Yeah, no. It was actually the most difficult part. You have to make sure your pen is at the correct angle and make sure that you don’t go too far. If you do, it turns into a weird rectangle that throws off the rest of the letter.

Next blog post, I’ll work on more letters, and getting uniform spacing and connectivity(?) between the letters.

– J

Leave a Reply

